The team

The IBT is administered by a board of eight trustees - four representatives of the RBN and four of Implats. This board is chaired by Mmemogolo Semane Bonolo Molotlegi, matriarch of the RBN.

Mmemogolo Semane Bonolo Molotlegi

Mmemogolo Semane Bonolo Molotlegi

Honorary Doctorate of Philosophy, North West University


The ‘mother’ of the RBN, Mmemogolo has 20 years’ experience in managing communitydevelopment issues. She serves on several boards and is also the patron of a number of organisations. Mmemogolo is also area president for Southern Africa’s Associated Country Women of the World.

Pierre Lourens

Pierre Lourens

BMil, University of Stellenbosch; MBA, University of Pretoria

Chief executive officer (CEO)

After 21 years in the mining sector, Pierre retired from Implats as the group sustainable development manager at the end of 2011. He is a former board member of Impala and served on several other boards. Pierre was appointed CEO of the IBT on 1 August 2012.



Greater Good South Africa
  • Advise on strategy
  • Support programme implementation
Deloitte & Touche
  • Information management system(s)
  • Financial administration
  • Verification

  More detail...

Annual report

Annual Report 2012
(PDF – 860KB)

© 2014 Impala Bafokeng Trust